Thomas Charles Bruce

Thomas Charles Bruce, mon 3e cousin paternel.

Thomas Charles Bruce, né  15 février  1825 (mort  23 novembre 1890) était un avocat britannique et un homme politique conservateur qui a siégé à la Chambre des communes de 1874 à 1885. Bruce était le plus jeune fils de Thomas Bruce, 7e comte d'Elgin, et de son épouse Elizabeth Oswald, fille de James Townsend Oswald Député de Dunnikeire.

 

Thomas a fait ses études au Jesus College de Cambridge et a obtenu son baccalauréat et son 24e Wrangler en 1850. Thomas a été admis au barreau de l'Inner Temple en 1854. En 1860, il a été nommé capitaine-commandant du 32e Middlesex Rifle Volunteers.

 

Lors des élections générales de 1859, Bruce s'est présenté sans succès au Parlement à Portsmouth. Il se présente à nouveau aux élections générales de 1874 et remporte le siège qu'il conserve jusqu'à sa défaite aux élections générales de 1885.

 

Thomas a épousé Sarah Caroline Thornhill, fille de Sir Thomas Thornhill, 1er baronnet de Riddlesworth Hall, Norfolk en 1863.

 

La photo principale ci-dessus est un croquis de Thomas de Vanity Fair, 1882.

 

La photo secondaire est celle d'un télégramme envoyé à Thomas par SAR la reine Victoria.

Telegram from Queen Victoria

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Thomas Charles Bruce, my paternal 3rd Cousin.

Thomas Charles Bruce, born  February 15,  1825 (died  November 23 1890) was a British barrister and a Conservative politician who sat in the House of Commons from 1874 to 1885. Bruce was the youngest son of the Thomas Bruce, 7th Earl of Elgin, and his wife Elizabeth Oswald, daughter of James Townsend Oswald MP of Dunnikeire.

 

Thomas was educated at Jesus College, Cambridge and graduated B.A. and 24th Wrangler in 1850. Thomas was called to the Bar at the Inner Temple in 1854. In 1860 he was appointed Captain-Commandant of the 32nd Middlesex Rifle Volunteers.

 

During the 1859 general election Bruce stood unsuccessfully for Parliament in Portsmouth. He stood again at the 1874 general election, and won the seat, holding it until his defeat at the 1885 general election.

 

Thomas married Sarah Caroline Thornhill, daughter of Sir Thomas Thornhill, 1st Baronet of Riddlesworth Hall, Norfolk in 1863.

 

The main photo above is of a sketch of Thomas from Vanity Fair, 1882.

 

The secondary photo is of a telegram sent to Thomas from H.R.H. Queen Victoria.