SIR FREDERICK WRIGHT-BRUCE

Mon 3e cousin paternel

Frederick William Adolphus Wright-Bruce est né le 14 avril 1814 et était le plus jeune des 3 fils de Thomas Bruce, 7e comte d'Elgin et de sa seconde épouse, Elizabeth, fille de mon cousin James Townsend Oswald de Dunnikier, Fife, en Écosse.  Il est né à Broomhall.

 

Frederick devint diplomate britannique et le 9 février 1842, il rejoignit la mission de Lord Ashburton à Washington, DC, et retourna en Angleterre en septembre 1842.

 

Le 9 février 1844, il est nommé secrétaire aux Colonies de Hong Kong. Frederick occupa ce poste pendant un peu plus de 2 ans lorsqu'en juin 1846, il fut nommé lieutenant-gouverneur de Terre-Neuve.  En juillet 1847, il changea de poste et fut nommé consul général en Bolivie. Il fut en outre nommé chargé d'affaires de la république orientale de l'Uruguay le 29 août 1851 et le 3 août 1853, il devint agent et consul général en Égypte.

 

En 1857, lorsque son frère, Lord Elgin fut nommé ambassadeur extraordinaire en Chine, il l'accompagna comme secrétaire principal en avril 1857. Il rapporta (18 septembre 1857) le traité avec la Chine signé à Tientsin le 26 juin 1858 et fut nommé CB le 28 septembre.

 

Sa diplomatie a été appréciée par le gouvernement anglais et sur  2 décembre  1858 envoyé extraordinaire et ministre plénipotentiaire auprès de l'empereur Xianfeng de Chine, le 1er mars 1858, il est nommé surintendant en chef du commerce britannique en Chine.

 

Sa mission fut empêchée de se rendre à Pékin par l'opposition des Chinois. La mission retourna donc à Shanghai, où elle resta jusqu'à la ratification du traité du 26 juin 1858 à Pékin le 24 octobre 1860. Il se rendit à Pékin le 7 novembre 1860 mais se retira à Tientsin pour l'hiver.

 

La mission fut établie à Pékin le 26 mars 1861, mais ce n'est que le 2 avril que Bruce rendit visite au prince Gong.

 

Le 1er mars 1865, après le transfert de Lord Lyons de Washington à Constantinople, Frederick fut choisi pour occuper l'important poste de représentant britannique à Washington. Il est fait chevalier commandeur du bain de la division civile le 12 décembre  1862 et reçut la grand-croix de l'ordre le  17 mars 1865.

 

Il a également été nommé arbitre par la commission nommée en vertu de la convention de 1864, conclue entre les États-Unis d'Amérique et les États-Unis de Colombie, pour l'ajustement des réclamations des citoyens américains contre le gouvernement colombien.

 

Il est décédé, célibataire, à Boston, aux États-Unis, le  19 septembre 1867. Sa dépouille est inhumée à l'abbaye de Dunfermline le 8 octobre.

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

SIR FREDERICK WRIGHT-BRUCE

My Paternal 3rd Cousin

Frederick William Adolphus Wright-Bruce was born on April 14th, 1814 and was the youngest of 3 sons of Thomas Bruce, 7th Earl of Elgin and his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of my cousin James Townsend Oswald of Dunnikier, Fife, Scotland.  He was born at Broomhall.

 

Frederick became a British diplomat and on February 9, 1842 he joined Lord Ashburton's mission to Washington, DC, and returned to England in September of 1842.

 

On February 9, 1844 he was appointed the Colonial Secretary of Hong Kong. Frederick held this position for a little over 2 years when, in June of 1846, he was appointed Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland.  In July of 1847 he changed positions and was appointed Consul General in Bolivia. He was further named the Charge d'Affaires of hte Oriental republic of Uruguay on August 29, 1851 and on August 3, 1853 he became agent and Consul-General in Egypt.

 

In 1857, when his brother, Lord Elgin was appointed Ambassador Extraodinary to China, he accompanied him as Principal Secretary in April, 1857. He brought home (18 September 1857) the treaty with China signed at Tientsin on 26 June 1858 and was made a C.B. on 28 September.

 

His diplomacy was appreciated by the English government and on  December 2,  1858 envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary to the Xianfeng Emperor of China, On March 1, 1858, he was appointed as Chief Superintendent of British trade in China.

 

His mission was prevented from proceeding to Peking by the opposition made by the Chinese. The mission therefore returned to Shanghai, where it remained until the ratification of the treaty of 26 June 1858 at Peking on October 24, 1860. He proceeded to Peking on November 7, 1860 but withdrew to Tientsin for the winter.

 

The mission was established at Peking on 26 March 1861, but it was not until 2 April that Bruce paid a visit to Prince Gong.

 

On March 1, 1865, after the removal of Lord Lyons from Washington to Constantinople, Frederick was selected to fill the important office of British representative at Washington. He was made a Knight Commander of the Bath of the civil division on December 12,  1862 and received the grand cross of the order on  March 17, 1865.

 

He was also appointed as umpire by the commission named under the convention of 1864, concluded between the United States of America and the United States of Colombia, for the adjustment of claims of American citizens against the Colombian government.

 

He died, unmarried, in Boston, USA on  September 19, 1867. He remains were interred at Dunfermline Abbey on 8 October.