Mary Louisa Bruce, comtesse d'Elgin - épouse de mon troisième cousin paternel.

C'est mon 3ème cousin paternel, James  Bruce, 8e comte d'Elgin et épouse du 12e comte de Kincardine, Mary Louisa Lambton.

 

Mary était la fille aînée du 1er comte de Durham, John George Lambton et Louisa Elizabeth Grey. Elle est née en 1819 et était la seconde épouse de mon cousin. Mary et James se sont mariés à Londres, en Angleterre, en 1846 à St. George, Hanover Square (un thème récurrent dans mes mariages familiaux aussi récents que mes arrière-arrière-grands-parents maternels, Richard et Eliza Tinsdill). Adolescente, Mary avait visité le Canada avec son père et deux de ses sœurs, Emily et Alice. Mary est revenue au Canada en 1847 après que mon cousin James a été nommé gouverneur général du Canada.

 

En 1878, Marie a été décorée de l'Ordre impérial de la Couronne de l'Inde (CI). L'Ordre a été créé par la reine Victoria en 1878 lorsqu'elle est devenue impératrice des Indes. L'ordre n'était ouvert qu'aux femmes et aucune nouvelle nomination n'a été faite après la partition de l'Inde en 1947. Mary avait été en Inde avec son mari, James Bruce, lorsqu'il a occupé le poste de vice-roi des Indes de 1862 jusqu'à sa mort en 1863. .

 

Aujourd'hui, un seul membre survivant de l'Ordre est Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth. Sa Majesté et sa sœur, Son Altesse Royale la princesse Margaret, ont été nommées Compagnons de l'Ordre par leur père, le roi George VI, en juin 1947.

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Mary Louisa Bruce, Countess of Elgin - wife of my paternal 3rd cousin.

This is my paternal 3rd cousin, James Bruce, 8th Earl of Elgin, and 12th Earl of Kincardine's wife, Mary Louisa Lambton.

 

Mary was the eldest daughter of the 1st Earl of Durham, John George Lambton, and Louisa Elizabeth Grey. She was born in 1819 and was my cousin's second wife. Mary and James married in London, England in 1846 at St. George, Hanover Square (a recurring theme in my family marriages as recent as my Great-great maternal grandparents, Richard and Eliza Tinsdill). As a teenager Mary had visited Canada with her father and two of her sisters, Emily and Alice. Mary returned to Canada in 1847 after my cousin James was appointed Governor General of Canada.

 

In 1878, Mary was decorated with the award of the Imperial Order of the Crown of India (C.I.). The Order was established by Queen Victoria in 1878 when she became Empress of India. The order was only open to women and no new appointments have been made after the Partition of India in 1947. Mary had been in India with her husband, James Bruce, when he held the office of Viceroy of India from 1862 until his death in 1863.

 

Today only one surviving member of the Order, and that is Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth. Her Majesty and her sister, Her Royal Highness Princess Margaret, were made Companions of the Order by their father, King George VI in June, 1947.