Battle of The Somme memorial

100e anniversaire de la bataille de la Somme

En grandissant, j'étais toujours au courant du service militaire de ma famille immédiate. Ma grand-mère maternelle, Anne Crosby, a perdu son père, Normal Crosby, lors de la bataille de la Somme en septembre 1916, alors qu'elle n'avait que 4 ans. Ma grand-mère a toujours veillé à ce que ses enfants et petits-enfants soient conscients du sacrifice de son père pour nos libertés et s'est assuré que nous comprenions qu'il n'y avait rien de glamour dans la guerre.

Plusieurs mois après  la mort de ma grand-mère en 2002, alors que je parcourais certains de ses papiers et photos personnels tard un samedi soir, je suis tombé sur plusieurs objets de son père. L'un des objets était une carte postale manuscrite que mon arrière-grand-père avait envoyée à sa femme et à ses enfants quelques mois avant d'être tué en France. J'ai également trouvé le télégramme original qui a été envoyé à mon arrière-grand-mère l'informant que son mari avait été tué - très froid et formel.  

J'ai alors découvert une coupure de journal du Toronto Telegram, jaunie depuis près de 90 ans. En lisant l'article, j'ai découvert que mon arrière-grand-père n'avait que 27 ans lorsqu'il a été tué, laissant derrière lui sa jeune veuve et ses 3 enfants âgés de 5, presque 4 et 1 an.

A l'époque j'avais 36 ans. J'avais vécu 9 ans de plus que mon arrière-grand-père. Pour une raison quelconque, je n'ai jamais réalisé à quel point mon arrière-grand-père était jeune lorsqu'il est décédé. Les grands-parents, et surtout les arrière-grands-parents, étaient censés être âgés. 27 ans n'était pas vieux du tout... il avait encore les meilleures années de sa vie devant lui.

Il y a plusieurs années, lors de vacances en France, je me suis rendu sur les champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale avec 3 amis proches. J'ai toujours voulu rendre hommage à mon arrière-grand-père et lui faire savoir qu'il n'était pas oublié.

En traversant la campagne française à l'est de Paris, sous des pluies torrentielles, nous sommes accidentellement (ou par intervention divine) tombés sur la zone où s'est déroulée la bataille de la Somme. Nous avions visé la ville française de Courcelette, et l'emplacement avait été soigneusement programmé dans le GPS de la Mercedes. Cependant, d'une manière ou d'une autre, nous avons été dirigés hors de l'autoroute principale et sur une série de ce qui pourrait être décrit comme des sentiers, à peine assez grands pour un seul véhicule, jusqu'à ce que nous tombions sur un petit panneau dont j'ai posté une photo en haut de cette page. Nous avions été conduits directement sur le lieu de la bataille, au milieu d'un champ de fermier.

Il n'y avait pas de grands panneaux routiers nous menant à ce site. Après nous être arrêtés et regardé autour de nous, nous avons continué vers Courcelette. Au cours de notre route, nous sommes tombés sur de nombreux cimetières du Commonwealth, chacun magnifiquement entretenu, la plupart assis au milieu de nulle part.

Le sentiment que chacun de nous avait alors que nous nous tenions dans les cimetières magnifiquement entretenus en regardant des rangées parfaites de pierres tombales blanches était difficile à décrire. L'une des choses que j'ai trouvées les plus horribles à propos des cimetières était le nombre de pierres tombales simplement marquées "Un soldat de la Grande Guerre". Aucun nom n'a été répertorié.  

Des milliers de braves soldats se sont battus et sont morts pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et leurs restes n'ont jamais été identifiés.

Malgré mon choc de voir combien de ces hommes courageux ne seraient jamais connus, y compris mon arrière-grand-père et plusieurs autres membres de la famille, j'ai ressenti un sentiment de calme. Ces hommes ont été enterrés avec leurs camarades, ensemble dans la mort comme dans la vie. Les cimetières étaient paisibles et soigneusement entretenus par des bénévoles invisibles, et entretenus avec amour et respect.

La galerie de photos ci-dessous contient toutes mes photos personnelles de la Somme et de la crête de Vimy, où des soldats canadiens qui n'ont pas connu de dons sont commémorés.

Depuis lors, j'ai été impressionné par le nombre d'hommes et de femmes que j'ai découverts dans ma famille et qui se sont tous portés volontaires pour défendre nos libertés. Je suis fier de mes ancêtres et de mes proches qui se sont battus si courageusement pour défendre notre liberté et je serai éternellement reconnaissant pour leur sacrifice.

Memorial to Battle of the Somme

Memorial to Battle of the Somme

Memorial found at the site of the Battle of The Somme

The Somme, France

The Somme, France

Site of the Battle of the Somme, France

The Somme, France

The Somme, France

Site of the Battle of The Somme.

Site of the Battle of The Somme

Site of the Battle of The Somme

The Somme, France

Commonwealth war graves, The Somme

Commonwealth war graves, The Somme

Commonwealth cemetery, The Somme, France.

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth War Graves

A Commonwealth cemetery, The Somme, France.

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth cemetery, France.

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth cemetery, France.

Commonwealth cemetery

Commonwealth cemetery

Commonwealth cemetery, France

Bernafay Wood cemetery

Bernafay Wood cemetery

Burnaby Wood Cemetery, Commonwealth war graves, France

331836_10150865932520486_1026345177_o

331836_10150865932520486_1026345177_o

Burnaby Wood cemetery

Burnaby Wood cemetery

Plaque showing The Somme front lines and battles, WWI @ Bernafay Wood Cemetery, France

Canadian WWI Solider Graves

Canadian WWI Solider Graves

Graves of WWI Canadian soldiers, Bernafay Wood Cemetery, France

Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial, France

WWI learning centre, Vimy France

WWI learning centre, Vimy France

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Canadian learning centre, Vimy Ridge

Canadian learning centre, Vimy Ridge

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Vimy Ridge shell crater

Vimy Ridge shell crater

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Preserved WWI trench, Vimy Ridge

Preserved WWI trench, Vimy Ridge

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Preserved WWI trench, Vimy Ridge

Preserved WWI trench, Vimy Ridge

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Remnants of WWI trench Vimy Ridge

Remnants of WWI trench Vimy Ridge

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Vimy Ridge memorial learning centre

Vimy Ridge memorial learning centre

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

WWI underground tunnels, Vimy Ridge

WWI underground tunnels, Vimy Ridge

The WWI learning centre, Vimy Ridge, France. Operated by Canadian government preserving trenches and shell craters from WWI battle.

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth War Graves

Vimy Ridge cemetery, Commonwealth soliders, Vimy Ridge, France.

Commonwealth War Graves

Commonwealth War Graves

Vimy Ridge Commonwealth solider's cemetery, Vimy Ridge, France.

Vimy Ridge Commonwealth cemetery

Vimy Ridge Commonwealth cemetery

Vimy Ridge Commonwealth solider's cemetery, Vimy Ridge, France.

Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial from east side, Vimy Ridge, France.

Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial

View looking to east from Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial

Vimy Ridge Memorial

The name of my maternal Great Grandfather, Norman Crosby, killed during The Battle of the Somme, 1916. He is listed as "missing" as his grave marker was lost in subsequent battles when the Germans overtook Commonwealth grounds. His remains are now one of the tens of thousands marked "Known only unto God."

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Battle of The Somme memorial

100th Anniversary of the Battle Of The Somme

Growing up, I was always aware of my immediate family's military service. My maternal Grandmother, Anne Crosby, lost her father, Normal Crosby, during the Battle Of The Somme in September, 1916, when she was only 4 years old. My Grandma always ensured that her children and grandchildren were aware of her father's sacrifice for our freedoms and made sure we understood that there was nothing glamorous about war.

Several months after my Grandmother's death in 2002, as I was looking through some of her personal papers and photos late one Saturday evening, I came across several items from her father. One of the items was a handwritten postcard that my Great-Grandfather sent home to his wife and children a few months before he was killed in France. I also found the original telegram that was sent to my Great-Grandmother advising her that her husband had been killed - very cold and formal. 

I then discovered a newspaper clipping from the Toronto Telegram, yellowed from almost 90 years of time. As I read the article, I discovered that my Great-Grandfather was only 27 years old when he was killed, leaving behind his young widow and 3 children, ages 5, almost 4 and 1 year old.

At the time I was 36 years old. I had lived 9 years longer than my Great-Grandfather had. For some reason I never realized just how young my Great-Grandfather had been when he had died. Grandparents, and especially Great-Grandparents, were supposed to be old. 27 years old was not old at all...he still had the best years of his life ahead of him.

Several years ago, while on vacation in France, I journeyed to the battlefields of World War I along with 3 close friends. I always wanted to pay tribute to my Great-Grandfather and let him know that he was not forgotten.

Driving through the French countryside east of Paris, through torrential rains, we accidentally (or by divine intervention), stumbled upon the area where the Battle of the Somme took place. We had been aiming for the French town of Courcelette, and the location had been carefully programmed into the GPS of the Mercedes. However, somehow we were directed off of the main highway and onto a series of what could best be described as pathways, barely large enough for a single vehicle, until we came across a small sign which I have posted a photo of at the top of this page. We had been lead directly to where the battle took place, in the middle of a farmer's field.

There were no large road signs leading us to this site. After we stopped and looked around, we continued towards Courcelette. During our drive we came across many Commonwealth grave yards, each beautifully maintained, most sitting in the middle of nowhere.

The feeling each of us had as we stood in the beautifully kept graveyards looking at perfect rows of white headstones was hard to describe. One of the things I found most horrifying about the graveyards was how many headstones were simply marked "A Soldier Of The Great War". No name was listed. 

Thousands of brave soldiers fought and died during WWI and their remains were never identified.

Despite my shock at just how many of these brave men would never be known, including my Great-Grandfather and several other family members, I felt a sense of calm. These men were buried with their comrades, together in death as they were in life. The graveyards were peaceful and carefully maintained by unseen volunteers, and maintained with love and respect.

The photo gallery below are all my personal photos from the Somme, and from Vimy Ridge, where Canadian soldiers who have no known gave, are memorialized.

Since that time I have been impressed with the number of men and women that I have discovered in my family that all volunteered their service to protect our freedoms. I am proud of my ancestors and relatives who so bravely fought to defend our freedom and will be forever grateful for their sacrifice.