Thomas Bruce, 7e seigneur d'Elgin, 11e comte de Kincardine

Époux de ma 2e cousine, Elizabeth Oswald du côté paternel.

 

Ci-dessus, un portrait du mari de ma 2e cousine Elizabeth Oswald, Thomas Bruce, 7e comte d'Elgin et 11e comte de Kincardine (portrait d'Anton Graff, vers 1788). Elizabeth était la sœur du général Sir John Oswald et la fille de James Townsend Oswald.

 

Thomas Bruce est né dans la noblesse, son père étant Charles Bruce, 5e comte d'Elgin et est né à Broomhall Castle (maintenant un petit hôtel de luxe qui semble être ce qui arrive à nos maisons ancestrales !), en Écosse, le 20 juillet 1766. Il a été ambassadeur tout au long de sa carrière en Autriche, en Belgique et à Constantinople où il a été ambassadeur britannique auprès de l'Empire ottoman.

 

L'une des choses les plus notoires pour lesquelles on se souvient de Thomas Bruce est le retrait des marbres d'Elgin du Parthénon à Athènes, en Grèce. Aujourd'hui, ces mêmes antiquités peuvent être vues au British Museum de Londres.

 

Bien que ma cousine Elizabeth ait été la seconde épouse de Bruce, ils ont eu quatre fils et trois filles dont James Bruce qui est devenu gouverneur de l'Amérique du Nord britannique (la péninsule de Bruce et le comté de Bruce portent son nom), Robert Bruce qui est devenu lieutenant-colonel dans le Grenadier Guards et épousa Katherine-Mary, fille de Sir Michael Shaw-Stewart, 6e baronnet; Sir Frederick Wright-Bruce, diplomate ; Thomas Charles Bruce, député de Portsmouth ; Charlotte-Christian qui a épousé Frederick Locker, le petit-fils du contre-amiral Sir Edward Locker; Augusta Frederica Elizabeth, dame d'honneur de la reine Victoria qui épousa Arthur Stanley qui devint doyen de Westminster. La dernière fille était Frances-Anne mais je ne trouve aucune information supplémentaire à son sujet.

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Thomas Bruce, 7th Lord of Elgin, 11th Earl of Kincardine

Husband of my 2nd cousin, Elizabeth Oswald on my paternal side.

 

Above is a portrait of my 2nd cousin Elizabeth Oswald's husband, Thomas Bruce, 7th Earl of Elgin and 11th Earl of Kincardine (portrait by Anton Graff, approximately 1788). Elizabeth was the sister of General Sir John Oswald and daughter of James Townsend Oswald.

 

Thomas Bruce was born into nobility with his father being Charles Bruce, 5th Earl of Elgin and was born at Broomhall Castle (now a small luxury hotel which seems to be what happens to our ancestral homes!), Scotland, on July 20, 1766. He was an ambassador throughout his career serving in Austria, Belgium and Constantinople where he was the British Ambassador to the Ottoman Empire.

 

One of of the most notorious things Thomas Bruce is remembered for is the removal of the Elgin Marbles from the Parthenon in Athens, Greece. Today these same antiquities may be seen at the British Museum in London.

 

Although my cousin Elizabeth was Bruce's second wife, they had four sons and three daughters including James Bruce who became Governor of British North America (the Bruce Peninsula and Bruce County are named after him), Robert Bruce who became a Lieutenant-Colonel in the Grenadier Guards and married Katherine-Mary, daughter of Sir Michael Shaw-Stewart, 6th Baronet; Sir Frederick Wright-Bruce, diplomat; Thomas Charles Bruce, MP for Portsmouth; Charlotte-Christian who married Frederick Locker, the grandson of Rear Admiral Sir Edward Locker; Augusta Frederica Elizabeth, lady in waiting to Queen Victoria who married Arthur Stanley who became Dean of Westminster. The last daughter was Frances-Anne but I can find no additional information about her.